Gene Bruskin Voted KC Labor's ‘2004 Labor Person of the Year’

Visitors to the KC Labor website chose Gene Bruskin as their “Labor Person of the Year.” With 28 percent of the vote Bruskin narrowly edged out Farm Labor Organizing Committee president Baldemar Velasquez (25 percent.) Others on the ballot were: Donna DeWitt, Adolph Reed Jr, Rose Ann DeMoro.

Bruskin was undoubtedly best known to voters for his role as national co-convener of US Labor Against the War. His resume also includes:

Secretary Treasurer, Food and Allied Service Trades (AFL-CIO); worked at FAST since 1994
Labor Director for Rev Jesse Jackson, National Rainbow Coalition; 1992-1994
Organizer, campaign coordinator for various local and national unions: 1986-1992
Local union officer, United Steelworkers of America:1977-1986
Long time leader in many struggles for peace and social justice, international solidarity, and equal rights

Congratulations Gene Bruskin!